Win a free copy of My Husband’s Woman by Dee Dee M. Scott

She Really Said It is proud to present ,My Husband’s Woman by Dee Dee M. Scott. She is an author, Screenwriter, playwright, director, producer and publisher. Scott wrote, produced and directed, My Husband’s Woman-The Stage Play, which played for two shows at: The Town Theater on November 27, 2011 and toured South Carolina. Currently, Scott is producing and directing her first film Lake House, which she also wrote. It will be released to select theaters in the summer of 2013. Her magazine entitled “Optimistic” launched in December of 2012. The magazine focuses on celebrating life, and self-improvement.

Dee Dee M. Scott was born and raised in Florence, South Carolina. Scott worked as a first grade teacher before becoming a full time writer and the publisher at:  Ahsyad Publications.

Dee Dee is the CEO of A DDMS ENTERTAINMENT, where she runs: Ahsyad Publications, A Raw Productions, A DDMS Theater Production, and A D & D Films. She is also the founder of Joseph & Kathy Gregg’s Child, a nonprofit, which she named after her parents, who both passed away from cancer.  Through Joseph & Kathy Gregg’s child, some of the proceeds from her productions and books are donated to, American Cancer Society, and are also used in programs that teach theater to children, and teens. Scott is also the founder of ( AOTR) Authors On The Rise, an online blog and website dedicated to promoting authors and their books. 

Enter to win a free copy of My Husband’s Woman:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Read the first chapter  of My Husband’s Woman below then pick up your copy today by clicking here.

My Husband's Woman

My Husband’s Woman

Chapter One

Brownsville, S.C, 2008

“Only two types of women sleep with married men: their wives and whores. At least that’s what my boyfriend’s wife told me before she shot me in my back,” Meshia said, using the Kleenex to wipe the tears from her brown sugar face.

Meshia focused her intense gaze on the young women who lived at the Brownsville Girls’ Home. They sat in rapt attention, clinging to her every word.

“I didn’t consider myself a whore,” Meshia continued. “In fact, I was just like most of you. I was young, beautiful, and naïve. I used to love to have fun and hang out with my older sister Tammy. But the moment I met my married lover Byron, my life changed forever. Byron was an attractive, successful attorney. He was eighteen years older than me and he blew my mind. I was so into him, that even after I found out he had a wife, I continued to sneak around with him.”

“Are you coming to a point?” an obstinate-faced young woman from the audience interrupted. “I mean, how is this speech about you creeping with some married man supposed to help me?”

“Maybe it will keep you from making the same mistakes I did,” Meshia said, stepping from behind the podium so she could get a better view of the young woman who’d just spoken.

“Look lady, I ain’t ever messed ‘round with no married man,” the woman said, rolling her eyes and neck now. “So I’m asking you again, how is this speech supposed to help me?”

“If you were so perfect, you wouldn’t be in the Girls’ Home right now, would you?” Meshia asked.

Many of the young women began laughing; their rambunctious chattering over took the cavernous auditorium.

“It’s obvious you’ve made a few mistakes,” Meshia replied over the sudden din. “Maybe your mistakes had nothing to do with cheating with a married man, but you made a bad choice that landed you in here. So sit back and listen to my story, and maybe you’ll see that I can help. I’m here today to talk about choices. The choices you make can ruin or even take your life. I want to share with you a choice I made, and the steep price I paid for it. I promise you, by the time I’m finished, you will think more carefully about the things you do and the choices you make.”

Meshia sat on the edge of the stage, her eyes blurry with tears. She peered out into the crowd. “Now let me tell you about Byron…”

Three years earlier…

Byron patted his pockets. His wife Alexandra was calling his cell phone: his girlfriend Meshia was paging him.

Byron answered his cell phone: his wife always came first. “Hi honey,” Byron spoke into his cell phone as he rushed through the halls of the crowded courthouse. He had a case going to trial in ten minutes.    “Yes, I do remember we are having dinner at the Sanders tonight,” he told his wife Alexandra. “I love you.”

After turning his cell phone off and then on again, Byron dialed his girlfriend Meshia’s number. Meshia picked up on the first ring.

“You stopping by my place in a few, baby?” Meshia asked in a light, innocent tone.

Byron felt his heart pumping faster from the sound of her voice. “No, but I’ll come over in an hour or two. We can spend the entire afternoon together.”

“Okay, baby,” Meshia said before ending the call.

Byron flipped his cell phone closed and wrapped his hand tighter around his briefcase, his mind on the personal injury case he had this morning. The insurance company had not wanted to settle, but Byron was positive the jury would side with his client and award a generous compensation for the motorcycle accident.

“It must be nice having a wife and a girlfriend,” a sarcastic voice announced beside him.

Annoyed, Byron glanced into the tan face of his legal assistant. He had been so consumed in his thoughts that he completely forgot about William. “It is nice having two women,” Byron admitted with a devilish grin on his handsome, dark brown face. He pushed the button to call the elevator and leaned his slender, athletic frame against the sidewall. He towered over William who stood docilely beside him.

“Aren’t you the least bit afraid that your wife will find out about your girlfriend?” William asked, his ocean blue eyes sparkling with intrigue.

“She won’t find out.”

“How can you be so sure?”

“My girlfriend knows I’m married: she doesn’t have a problem with it. She actually believes that someday I’m going to leave my wife for her.”

Byron ran his hand over his neatly trimmed sideburns. He looked distractedly at the elevator’s numbers that were slowly moving down. “But I’ll never leave my wife,” Byron confided, looking at William again. “My wife is the entire package. She’s beautiful, classy, and politically astute. My girlfriend is totally opposite. I mean we have absolutely nothing in common. She’s young and naive. She loves to listen to old school rap music and watch comedy movies. But man, you should see her body!” Byron shook his head and smiled. “The only thing she’s good at is sexing me. She has this perfect little frame, and she knows how to drive me crazy in the bedroom-”

“Spare me the details.” William cut him off. He glided his manicured hand through his blond hair. “What would you say if your girlfriend told you she wanted another man for all those lonely nights when you’re with your wife?”

William’s words made Byron’s heart skip a beat.

“I’d say no way.” He declared sharply.

William laughed. The elevator finally arrived, unloading a dozen people in a flood.

William, Byron, and a few other bystanders stepped in.

William pressed the button for the tenth floor. Joining Byron at the back of the elevator, he lowered his voice so no one else could overhear their conversation. “So let me get this straight: your girlfriend has to be faithful to you even though you have a wife?”

“Yes, I’m just having fun.” Byron nudged William in the shoulder playfully. “I mean you’re a man. You know as well as I do how hard it is for a man to remain monogamous. Sometimes a man just needs a little extra loving on the side. I’ve got a good wife, but I can’t keep it at home no matter how hard I try.” Byron turned to face William. “You should try having a fling sometime. Maybe it would help you not to be so uptight.”

“Never,” William mumbled, holding up both hands. “I’m a happily married man. And if you ask me, every married man already has more pussy than he can handle at home.”

“Oh come on. You’re no saint,” Byron laughed. “I see the way you look at the new secretary. You want her bad, don’t you?”

“No,” William laughed. “It’s strictly business with every woman I come in contact with at work. I just hope you’re prepared for the baggage that comes along with that extra stuff on the side.”

“I’m prepared for it,” Byron replied. “Have you forgotten that I’m a lawyer?”

“Don’t you mean you’re a liar?” William joked. “I guess that’s why you make such a brilliant, personal injury attorney.” William smiled.

Byron laughed, straightening his red tie. The elevator reached the tenth floor and they stepped out. He checked his watch. He made it just in time. There was his client, outside the courtroom planted helplessly in a wheelchair. Anxious to get this day in the books so he could make a beeline for his girlfriend Meshia’s apartment, Byron walked quickly to him.

***

Meshia ran her fingers through her thin, shoulder-length braids. She spun a pirouette in front of the full-length mirror, admiring her flawless, brown sugar skin. Next, she slipped into her sexy, green summer dress and matching high heels. Byron would be there in an hour, and ooh baby…the erotic things she wanted to do to him.

She shopped through the bottles of perfumes on the dressing table in her bedroom. Which one would she wear today to drive Byron crazy? She was just about to try out a new bottle when an impatient voice called out to her from the living room.

“Meshia, get out that mirror and bring your ass in here!”

It was her sister Tammy. Meshia rolled her eyes hard. She spritzed perfume on both sides of her neck and walked into the living room.

Tammy was sitting on over one-half of the five-foot sofa. She seemed to be getting bigger and wider with everyday that passed. Her short, raven black hair was pulled back into a tight ponytail, and her clothes were thrown haphazardly together.

“What do you want, sis?” Meshia asked, smiling even though Tammy’s doe shaped eyes were flashing with disapproval. Meshia put both hands on her hips and cocked her head to the side. “And don’t you have an appointment with Dr. Brown in half an hour?”

“My appointment with Dr. Brown ain’t ‘till tomorrow,” Tammy huffed. She stuffed her asthma inhaler between her lips and took a deep puff. “I know you’re trying to get rid of me. That good-for-nothing Byron must be on his way over here.”

“Please, don’t start on Byron again,” Meshia snapped. She walked over to the yellow sofa across from where Tammy dominated. Tammy’s two-year-old son Jay was jumping up and down on the sofa. “And could you please tell your son not to jump on my furniture.”

Meshia enveloped Jay into her arms. He was a handsome, little boy with caramel skin and pitch black eyes. “He’s my nephew and I love him, but he can’t come over here and do whatever he wants to do.” She looked into his boyish face. “What am I going to do to punish my nephew for jumping on my furniture?” she asked him innocently.

Jay started laughing and squirming in anticipation as he awaited Meshia’s wiggly fingers to tickle him.

Meshia tickled him for a few seconds, and then kissed him on the cheek. “Now get over there and help your mama get up,” she ordered. She held her breath as she watched Tammy struggling to stand.

Jay ran to Tammy and tried to help her up, but she refused his help.

Tammy manhandled her walking cane, forcing her five-foot-two, three hundred and ten pound figure to disengage from the sofa. Anger masked her chubby, brown face as she focused on Meshia. “Mama would be turning over in her grave if she knew her youngest daughter was dating a married man.”

“I don’t want to hear it,” Meshia replied. She stormed across the spacious living room and grabbed Tammy’s purse from the couch.

Tammy continued chastising her anyway. “You thought it broke mama’s heart when you dropped out of high school in the tenth grade. Imagine how she’d feel if she could see the type of life you’re leading now.”

Meshia took a deep breath. She didn’t want to argue with Tammy; there was too much respect between them. Two years earlier, Tammy had stepped in to raise her after their mother died unexpectedly. Tammy worked two jobs just to put food on the table and to make ends meet. Meshia felt that she at least owed Tammy respect, if nothing else. She walked ahead of Tammy to the front door and opened it.

“Are you proud of this life?” Tammy asked, her anger building by the second. She stomped her way to the front door. Jay stood by her side. “Don’t you know you’re dead wrong for messing ‘round with a married man?”

Meshia rested her hand on Tammy’s shoulder. “Listen sis, I’m a grown woman. I’m twenty-years-old. I’m not that same naïve, teenage girl you had to look after when mama died. I can take care of myself. I have more than enough money-”

“Then why is Byron paying for this apartment and your car note every month?” Tammy cut her off.

Meshia sucked in air through her teeth. “He chooses to do that, but he doesn’t have to,” she retorted, her control slipping.

“Why wouldn’t he?” Tammy’s breathing was labored as she looked around Meshia’s upscale, luxury apartment. “Shit, he’s got the perfect plan set up to cheat on his wife. He has you in this fancy apartment on the other side of town, away from his wife and his law firm. He can sneak over here and screw you whenever he feels like it. He’s treating you like a whore.”

“I am not a whore!” Meshia shouted.

“I didn’t say you were a whore,” Tammy said, agitation running through her voice. “I said he’s treating you like a whore. Byron never takes you out in public. He just comes over to this apartment to get sex anytime he feels like it, and all you do is sit and wait for him.”

Tammy shook her head and tried to get her breathing under control. “Why don’t you go out and meet new people? Make some friends. You can go back to school and take up a trade. Do something! Don’t waste your life being faithful to a married man.”

“It won’t be like this always.” Meshia smiled, believing her own words fervently. “Byron loves me and I love him. Someday he’s going to leave his wife and marry me.”

“Please tell me you’re not that stupid,” Tammy said, shaking her head in disbelief. “I thought I taught you better than that. Do you actually think Byron is going to leave his wife for you?”

“He told me he would,” Meshia answered with confidence. “He’s not happy at home. He’s trapped in a loveless marriage. He just has a few more things he needs to straighten out and when he does, he’s going to leave his wife to marry me.”

“He’ll leave his wife for you when it snows in July,” Tammy muttered, narrowing her eyes. She leaned heavily on her walking cane.  “That man is just using you. Why can’t you see that? He’ll tell you anything to keep getting in your panties. You’re free and easy.”

Meshia’s heart plummeted into her stomach. She closed her eyes to impede the tears. Byron did love her. Why couldn’t Tammy understand that? And why couldn’t Tammy see that Byron and her relationship went deeper than just sex?

Meshia gave Tammy her purse. “Goodbye sis-”

“No, I ain’t leaving yet,” Tammy interjected. “You can have a good and respectable life. Don’t ruin it like this. Let that old son of a bitch go!” Tammy suddenly lost her ability to breathe. She snatched her asthma inhaler from her purse. She took a few quick puffs, but still felt tightness in her chest.

Meshia turned a deaf ear to her sister’s words, and a blind eye to her huge lips swallowing the tiny inhaler. She wasn’t about to let anything spoil her good mood. She had not seen her man in three days. God knows she’d been lonely while waiting for him to call. She kissed Jay on the forehead and gave him a big, bear hug, telling him Auntie Meshia would let him spend next weekend with her.

Tammy knew Meshia was ignoring her, and it made her angrier than a Tasmanian Devil. She wanted more for her sister, but realized her sister had to want more for herself. “Well, I’ve said all I could.”

Tammy painstakingly wallowed her way out into the hallway. The June heat was unbearable. There wasn’t any breeze, just smoldering heat on top of smoldering heat. Tammy wished she could go back into the icy coolness of Meshia’s luxury apartment as she looked at the long flight of stairs she would have to maneuver down. She wished silently that Meshia lived on the ground floor.

“Hell, I’ve got my own problems,” Tammy snapped, shouldering her purse. “This diabetes, asthma, and high blood pressure working in my body is trying to take me out at thirty eight. You will learn the hard way.” Tammy proceeded down the first stair. Jay faithfully ran down the stairs ahead of her.

“Want me to help you downstairs to your car, sis?” Meshia asked, feeling guilty for upsetting her.

“No, I can do it myself,” Tammy said, not looking back at Meshia as she continued down the stairs.

“Take care, and call me when you-” Meshia’s words slammed to a halt, and she lost all cognitive thought when she saw the man standing at the bottom of the stairwell. It was Byron! The first thing she noticed was his perfect, brilliantly white smile. His wavy, midnight black hair was cut low, while the sideburns that framed his handsome, dark brown face were perfectly trimmed. Her heart skipped an entire beat as she took in his slender, athletic body that was draped in a Christian Dior suit and Topsiders. Damn, she was attracted to him. She was smiling as she watched him take out his wallet and give Jay a dollar.

“Speaking of the devil,” Tammy growled, focusing on the man she blamed for ruining her sister’s life. He was thirty-eight-years old and messing around with her twenty-year-old sister. Taking advantage of my sister is what he’s doing, with his cradle robbing self, Tammy thought vehemently.

Tammy wished she had her good health. She would have socked Byron right in the face. Byron was speaking and smiling at the same time as he brushed past her now. “Sneaky son of a bitch!” Tammy spat, not caring if he heard her.

Byron had to turn sideways so he could squeeze through because Tammy took up most of the stairway.

Meshia opened the door wide open and leaned against the jamb. Byron strutted into her apartment. His cologne made her head start spinning. She took a deep breath to still her heart and clear her head before closing the door and facing him.

Byron drew her into his strong arms, giving her a long, juicy kiss.

She never wanted the kiss to end, but Byron pulled away. He surprised her by announcing that he had some gifts for her. Then he produced a Hallmark card, a box of Godiva chocolates, and two sexy negligee pieces from Victoria’s Secretes.

Meshia was smiling and blushing like a moonstruck teen as she took the gifts from him. She knew he was trying to make up for not visiting the past three days. She studied the beautiful, red roses on the card before setting it on the DVD shelf. The oppressive June heat had already melted the chocolates. She floated happily to the kitchen and put it in the freezer.

She hung the negligees in the hall closet along with the rest of the sexy underwear he’d purchased for her. When she returned from the kitchen, Byron had his back to her, hanging up his suit jacket.

“Your sister really hates me,” Byron said, loosening his red tie.

Meshia went to him and placed her hands across the smooth planes of his muscular shoulders. “She doesn’t hate you, baby. She’s just over protective of me.”

Byron turned to face her. His ebony stare lowered to rake every inch of her sexy, size six figure. Meshia was his fantasy. She was young, beautiful, and his alone. He could come to her apartment whenever he wanted, knowing she’d be there waiting, looking like sex itself.

Meshia kept her eyes locked on Byron as she pulled down the straps of her green, summer dress. Kicking off her high heels, she was to her original height of five foot eight. She let her dress fall to the floor.

Byron gasped as he inhaled her perfectness. She stood enticingly in a purple bra and matching thong. Although he’d seen her this way many times, he desired her more every time he was with her.

“I’m going to tear you up,” Meshia said in a seductively, low voice. She took him into her arms, kissing him vigorously.

Byron was enjoying every second of her masterful tongue as it caressed his own, but he had to come up for air. “Please tear me up,” he moaned. He hungrily squeezed her voluptuous behind. “You look so sexy and smell so damn good. Do any and everything you want to me. Just no hickeys or scratches, okay?”

“Okay,” Meshia said, grabbing him by the tie; she led him out of the living room, down the hallway, and into her bedroom.

***

    “Do you love me, Byron?” Meshia asked as they lay in bed after making love. They were naked and wrapped like mummies in each other’s arms. Meshia needed to hear him say those three, special words right now. Those words would make the two years she’d been waiting for him to leave his wife not seem like such a waste. It would also prove that Byron wasn’t just using her for sex, like her sister Tammy assumed.

“You know I love you,” Byron said, knowing that in his heart he was being untruthful. He didn’t love Meshia; he loved what she could do to him sexually. But he couldn’t tell her that. It was easier telling lies. She believed his lies so easily.

“Well, when are we going to be together?” Meshia asked, lifting her face from his hairy chest so she could look into his eyes.

“We’re together now, baby,” Byron said, looking away from her searching gaze.

Meshia pulled away, fixing him with a stern look. “You know what I mean. When are you leaving her?”

“Soon.”

“How soon?” Meshia persisted, not satisfied with his vague answer.

Bryon exhaled noisily and rested his head against the fluffy pillow. “I’m not able to give you an exact date. I’m still trying to wait on the right time. I can’t just leave my wife. You know that. A lot of legal issues have to be resolved first.” He placed his finger underneath her chin and lifted her head. “I need you to be patient, okay, sweetheart?”

Meshia drew away from him and stood naked in front of the bed. “I’ve been patient for two years.” She slipped into her robe. “Do you have any idea how lonely I am? I want to be with you more than just once or twice a week. I want a real life with you.”

Byron stood and went to his woman. He pulled her to him and wrapped his arms around her thin waist. “And I want a real life with you too. I’m miserable living this way, but before we can be together I must take care of business at home. If I walk out on my wife, or if she finds out about you, I’ll lose everything I’ve worked so hard to accomplish.”

Meshia lowered her long eyelashes in disappointment to stop the tears from falling. She loved Byron; had loved him since the first time she’d met him two years ago at his law firm. A tragic car accident had brought them together, and she wasn’t about to let ‘her’ separate them. She rarely thought about the accident now. It hurt too deeply when she contemplated how the accident had ruined a big part of her life; so she’d frozen solid the memory of the accident in the back of her mind.

The settlement she’d been awarded after the accident had left her well to do. She would not have to work for the rest of her life, if she did the right thing with the money. Still, the biggest settlement she wanted to be awarded with was Byron.

She’d known he was married when they first hooked up two years ago. Back then, she had been infatuated with everything about him: from the way he looked, to the fact that he was a successful attorney. But now, that girlish infatuation had grown into love at full blossom.

Byron recognized that restless look in her eyes. He knew he had a hold on her physically and mentally, but to maintain that hold required the skill of a master. For a second, his ego was the size of a mountain. He could not believe this beautiful, young woman was so into him.
“I know you’ve been stuck in this apartment for a while,” he said, taking her by the hand and leading her back to the bed. He sat down and pulled her onto his lap. “This weekend, I have some business to handle in Atlanta. Why don’t you come along with me? When I’m finished, we can spend some quality time together.”

“I’d love to go!” Meshia exclaimed, excited from the thought of spending the weekend with him. She’d gone with him numerous times before when he’d gone out of town, and they always had fun.

The musical jingling from Byron’s cell phone interrupted them. Meshia slid from his lap and sat docilely on the bed. He rushed to the corner and slipped on his boxers. Retrieving his cell phone from his pants, he looked at the caller ID. It was his wife! His heart did a summersault. Before rushing into the hallway out of hearing distance, he told Meshia it was his wife. He turned on the cell phone and said hello.

Alexandra’s silky voice floated through the line. “I just left your law firm. I thought you were working late today?”

“I was,” Byron said, trying to keep his voice calm and convincing. “I had to step out to run a few errands.” His heart started kicking against his ribcage. He had not expected his wife to stop by his firm or call him anymore today. She was supposed to be at home, preparing a dish to take to the Sanders for dinner tonight.

“Where are you?” Alexandra asked.

“I’m at the Paper Shack on Leevine.”

“Really?” Alexandra replied. “I’m down the street from Leevine. Why don’t I meet you? I need to get a housewarming gift for the Sanders.”

Byron felt like he was about to shit on himself. “You don’t have to go out of your way, honey. I’m only going to be here for a New York minute.”

“It’s not out of my way. I’ll be there soon,” Alexandra replied, before ending the call.

Byron was panting as he snapped close his cell phone. “Oh shit! I have to go!” He hurried back into the bedroom and slipped into his dress pants.

“But I thought we were spending the afternoon together,” Meshia said, looking confused as she stood. She watched dumbstruck as he rushed around the bedroom, gathering his clothes.

“We were, but I forgot I had a meeting with one of my clients this afternoon,” Byron said, struggling to put a lie together as he threw on his shirt. “My firm called my house a few minutes ago and told my wife to remind me.” He could not tell her that he was rushing off to meet his wife, especially since she’d just complained that they didn’t spend enough time together.

Meshia stood behind him, watching closely as he tried to right his appearance. She was so disappointed she wanted to cry. Something or someone was always taking him away from her. If it wasn’t his wife, it was his law firm. If it wasn’t his law firm, it was a stupid meeting of some sort.

Byron stepped hastily into his shoes. He forgot about putting on his socks. He quickly kissed Meshia on the lips, telling her that he would call later. Then he rushed out of the apartment, looking disheveled and nervous.

Meshia was just about to close the front door when she saw the apartment manager walk into the stairway downstairs. A cocoa-brown shaded man, wearing a do-rag and a baseball cap turned sideways on his head, followed behind the apartment manager. Byron almost ran into them. Meshia and the cocoa-brown man locked eyes as he and the apartment manager walked up the stairs.

Meshia heard the apartment manager telling the man about the open apartment across from her apartment. The place had been empty for almost two months; now it looked like she was about to get a new, male neighbor. She closed the front door before the apartment manager and the man reached the top of the stairs. She didn’t feel like being introduced to new neighbors today. She just was not in the mood.

She hurried her way to the balcony door, and watched as Byron’s black Mercedes streaked out of the apartment complex. She looked into the cloudless, blue sky. It was a beautiful day to spend outside at a park or on the beach. Instead, she would spend it inside and alone. She stood lamely at the balcony door, listening to silence. Damn, she hated this being the other woman thing. Mostly, she hated being alone. She went to the telephone and dialed a number programmed there. Tammy answered on the second ring.

“What you doing?” Meshia asked.

“Just cooking dinner,” Tammy said, breathing heavily.

“Save some for me.”

“I thought you were spending the day with your married boyfriend?”

“Something came up.”

“Yeah, something came up alright,” Tammy replied, sarcasm dripping from her every word. “And now that it’s down, Prince Charming’s gone.”

“I’ll see you in half an hour,” Meshia said, ignoring the comment. She hung up the telephone. A picture of Byron sat in a frame on the glass table, mocking her loneliness. She retrieved the picture and stared at it for a few seconds, before heading for the shower.

To Read More Click Here.

Leave a Reply

